About Me

This is a little about me.

Mikey and I jumping steeplechase at a BN long format event, 2012.
I am a 20 something that got a degree in Actuarial Science that I don't use. I tried my hand at being a professional rider after college, but for a variety of reasons, it didn't work out and I went back to being an Adult Amateur. I can't help but think if I went to work directly for my trainer after college, things would have been different. Now I have a career in finance/banking, and use some of my vacation time to act as a groom for her while she continues to compete at the 3* and 4* level.

Mikey and I half passing at 3rd level, 2014.
I've been riding for almost 20 years. I started as a hunter rider, had an instructor switch and went generic western and 4H for a little while, had another instructor switch where came back to hunters and 4H, started eventing and dressage, did a year of Pony Club, did more hunters, switched to my current trainer and evented seriously, then made the switch to straight dressage in 2013.

Mikey and I extended cantering at 3rd level, 2015.
I bought my first horse in 2005, a chestnut OTTB named Mikey who I had started leasing in 2004 when he was fresh off the track. He was fabulous and I loved him immensely. I had 11 years with him before he suddenly and tragically passed away. I bought my second horse, Penn, a 2009 Oldenburg/TB cross in 2015 shortly after Mikey's death.

Penn and I after our tests at his first horse show, 2015.
My goal for this blog was to chronicle Mikey and my dressage career to what I hoped would be PSG before his deserved retirement of toting a training or first level rider around, obnoxiously winning everything in sight. Now, I'm going to chronicle my ultimate goal- getting to Grand Prix and my Gold Medal.

1 comment:

  1. New follower! :) can't wait to read more and follow you along the journey :)
    www.baysoverbaes.wordpress.com

    ReplyDelete